Skip to Content

Milwaukie High School Seniors Win Four $6,000 Scholarships

July 01, 2021

The following article is from Pamplin Media Group

Four students from Milwaukie are among 56 high school graduates from the class of 2021 each receiving $6,000 scholarships as ECMC Scholars.

MHS students and scholarship winners Savana Ramirez, Kiara Burris, Kairi Reyes and Nayzeth Herrera all have college plans and will be attending the University of Oregon, University of Montana and Clackamas Community College.

For the past two years, these students participated in a comprehensive mentoring program designed to help build academic and life skills. Unlike a traditional academic scholarship, students were selected to participate in the program based on their potential — not solely on their academic merit. Working in collaboration with school staff and the ECMC Scholars Program team, students spent their junior and senior years of high school actively preparing for postsecondary education.

"The class of 2021 ECMC Scholars are amazing. Their world was turned upside down with the pandemic and virtual learning during their senior year of high school. I'm so proud of each of these students," said Jan Smith, ECMC Scholars program manager.

Each scholarship recipient has been given the opportunity to receive personalized near-peer college coaching services provided by Beyond 12, which provides academic, social and emotional support students need to persist in postsecondary education.

"Now more than ever, it is important to provide students with a holistic approach to helping them get to and through postsecondary education," said Paula Craw, vice president of outreach for ECMC. "The ECMC Scholars Program is designed to help students with challenges that may prevent them from reaching their education goals."

Back to News